Mainers are now required to get a burn permit before lighting a bonfire. The law, LD 24 will impact fires that exceed 3 feet in height and 3 feet in diameter that are not for debris disposal. It is also unlawful for burning outdoors during red flag warning days.
Permits for burning brush and wood debris remain unaffected and are still required under the existing regulations.
A new law means you are now required to get a burn permit before lighting a bonfire in Maine.
— CBS 13 News (@WGME) October 24, 2023