You are currently viewing Approval of Major Disaster Declaration for January Storms

Approval of Major Disaster Declaration for January Storms

  • Post category:Local / News

Governor Janet Mills announced that President Joe Biden has approved the State of Maine’s request for a Major Disaster Declaration to help eight coastal counties recover from back-to-back severe storms on January 10 and January 13 that brought significant flooding and damage.

The President’s Disaster Declaration unlocks federal assistance to help Maine cover the cost of public infrastructure repairs, estimated at more than $70 million from the January storms. President Biden also approved Individual Assistance requested by Governor Mills that can provide direct relief to certain eligible individuals and families that experienced severe property damage.

The President’s Major Disaster Declaration covers public assistance and individual assistance for Maine’s eight coastal counties: Washington, Hancock, Waldo, Knox, Lincoln, Sagadahoc, Cumberland, and York.

Latest Local Central Maine News